Saturday, December 29, 2018

A Good Old-Fashioned Roller-Coaster Read | Review of Mark of Distinction

About the Book (from Tyndale)

London is said to be the glittering jewel of society, a world unto itself—but to Julia Elliston it is a city of shadows. Her life is swiftly dissolving into scandal. And in Victorian society, even a whisper of scandal—substantiated or not—can be the death of a young woman’s reputation.

Now under the watchful eye of Lord Roy Pierson, one of the most influential men in England, Julia begrudgingly accepts his protection. But Chance Macy’s power is far-reaching as well, and he is eager to assert his claim over her.

Thrust into society as the Emerald Heiress, Julia is the toast of London, a celebrated curiosity. But in reality she’s trapped between the clutches of two powerful men. Aided only by a gentleman whose intentions she prays she can trust, Julia must finally take control of her own fate—but outwitting one’s foe rarely goes according to plan.

Available Now!

My Rating


My Review

Man, this series is a good old-fashioned roller coaster if ever there was one! This second book in the Price of Privilege trilogy continues Julia's story on the enchanting but frightful stage of Victorian-era London, with its parties and balls, desperation and lonely halls.

Everything is told through Julia's perspective, meaning we readers encounter the charming deceptions, timid hopes, and powerful emotions she experiences right alongside her. She once again faces a great amount of upheaval, and it's satisfying and inspiring to see her go to battle with her uncertainty in order to truly understand who she is and what she believes. By the last surprising scenes, she still has a long way to go...but she's taken important steps. And thank goodness there's still another book!

Danger and dark secrets continue to build in this series, layer upon layer. Mr. Macy lurks in the shadows, ready to appear and wreak havoc at any unexpected moment. Lord Isaac Dalry and his sweet family offer moments of brightness...but happily-ever-after is far from simple for a girl like Julia, who seems to have stumbled upon a fortune but prefers to cling to her treasure chest of childhood memories.

Mark of Distinction is a middle book, and it reads that way. One important character takes backstage for most of this story, so unless you're familiar with book 1, it might be hard to fathom (or care) why Julia feels so strongly about him. And knowing the whole story ultimately intensifies the dangers and revelations. So you'll definitely want to read Born of Persuasion first...and then you'll most definitely want to dive into Price of Privilege (book 3)!

*With thanks to Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a complimentary ARC of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.*


Kami said...

Sounds like a fun crazy ride!

Amber Holcomb said...


Most definitely! It's turning out to be a fascinating series. :)


Courtney Clark (The Green Mockingbird Blog) said...

In case you didn't know, this is my absolute fav historical series of ALL TIME!!!! I'm so glad you're reading it! It IS a rollercoaster, in the best way. I am eager to hear your thoughts once you finish book 3!

Amber Holcomb said...


I can totally understand why! The series is very intriguing and profound. :) I love your (and Rachel McMillan's) enthusiasm for it!

I'm not quite sure if I'll do a full review for Price of Privilege... Perhaps I should! My thoughts are all over the place with that one. ;) But I do need to at least respond to your comment on Goodreads soon!

Thanks so much for checking out my review and sharing my excitement, friend!