Monday, May 2, 2016

The Surprising Legacy of a Serial Killer | Review of The Progeny



About the Book

New York Times bestselling author Tosca Lee brings a modern twist to an ancient mystery surrounding the most notorious female serial killer of all time. A fast-paced thriller for fans of Ted Dekker’s The Books of Mortals, Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code, and BBC America’s hit series Orphan Black.

Emily Jacobs is the descendant of a serial killer. Now, she’s become the hunted.

She’s on a quest that will take her to the secret underground of Europe and the inner circles of three ancient orders—one determined to kill her, one devoted to keeping her alive, and one she must ultimately save.

Filled with adrenaline, romance, and reversals, The Progeny is the present-day saga of a 400-year-old war between the uncanny descendants of “Blood Countess” Elizabeth Bathory, the most prolific female serial killer of all time, and a secret society dedicated to erasing every one of her descendants. A story about the search for self filled with centuries-old intrigues against the backdrop of atrocity and hope.

Releases May 24, 2016!

My Rating

Spring/Summer

My Review

Um, wow!! The Progeny is an engrossing read with a touch of history and a whole lotta twists and turns.

This book prompted me to do a quick search of Elizabeth Bathory online, and talk about super creepy and tragic stories surrounding her life and legacy. The Progeny tosses around the idea of whether or not the accusations are completely true, but if they are...the implications are incredibly disturbing.

Fast forward to the fictional world of Emily Jacobs, a girl who chose to have her memory erased—and now she doesn't know why. If only the past she purposely forgot didn't catch up to her in the form of two men with questionable motives.

And now she's on the run from a threat she can't remember.

Thus begins an interesting, fast-paced, often surprising ride. I loved how a character would seem one way and then turn out to be another...and then turn out to be something else entirely. It's a lot of fun to read a story that keeps you guessing all the way through.

Unfortunately, as this is the first in a series, there are still plenty of unanswered questions and a lot left unresolved. Warning: This is definitely not a stand-alone. And I'm left with uncertainty as to how I feel about all the revelations and the dilemmas yet to be solved.

But there are some great lines and questions raised, and fans of dark, suspenseful (but not over-the-top disturbing), YA-style fiction should find this a fascinating start to the Descendants of the House of Bathory series.

*With thanks to NetGalley and Howard Books for providing me with an e-ARC of the book in exchange for my honest opinion.*

6 comments:

Julie said...

I put my review of The Progeny up yesterday on my blog. I really enjoyed it! It was twisty-turny and kept us guessing. And the ending! Oh my! Looking forward to the next one for sure. Loved your review as always!

Julie @ My Favorite Pastime

Amber Stokes said...

Julie,

Wasn't this a fascinating read? I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it, too! So fun to read your review. :) Thank you so much for checking out mine! This book definitely ends with plenty of questions as to how everything will turn out...

~Amber

Julie said...

Yes, definitely fascinating! I swear it stayed with me for days after I finished it. Kind of haunting. Don't you love a book like that? One that the characters stay with you for a while. Making it hard to move on. I hate having to wait for the next one!

Amber Stokes said...

Julie,

Those sorts of books are pretty awesome! Sometimes light and fluffy is really nice, but those "haunting" sorts of books can make you think/feel deeply, see from a new perspective, and broaden your horizons. One that comes to mind for me is The Memory Game, which I mentioned in this post.

I wonder how long it will be before the sequel to The Progeny releases?? As an author, I can understand why there are long waits between books...but as a reader, I feel the pain! ;)

~Amber

Julie said...

I think I read somewhere that Tosca Lee is working on edits for the next book. Not sure where I read that though or if I am making it up! ha! I imagine it may be another year though. Doesn't that seem to be how far apart release days are? I hope not though.

Amber Stokes said...

Julie,

Haha, I totally understand not remembering where you heard something, but feeling pretty convinced of it! ;) And that definitely sounds reasonable to assume she's working on edits for Book 2 and to expect its release sometime in 2017. :) Hopefully sooner in 2017 rather than later! *crosses fingers*

~Amber